Best friends on Instagram: How do you know if you are included?

best friends on instagram

Instagram's Close Friends list is a popular feature among frequent users of the social network. Even so, there are still those who are completely unaware of this special function and, therefore, don't use it. So, how can you tell if you're on someone's Close Friends list on Instagram? Fortunately, there are a few tricks that will help you find out.

Being on a "close friends" list is practically synonymous with trust, intimacy, and exclusivity. For that reason, it's natural to want to know if our social circle considers us as such . Now, to avoid jumping to the wrong conclusions, let's analyze how to find out if someone has added you to this list, what this feature is for, and how to create your own list. Let's begin.

How to know if you are or not in 'best friends' on Instagram?

Person looking at an Instagram profile

Instagram doesn't actually have a specific feature to tell you if you're on someone's close friends list. As you might expect, this avoids misunderstandings and unnecessary arguments between users. However, there are some visible signs that can help you find out.

First, keep in mind that Instagram Stories are characterized by a colored circle around them . These are the social network's signature colors: a combination of orange, red, fuchsia, and purple. However, when it comes to a Story shared with your "close friends" group, these colors change. How so?

When a user has created a Close Friends list on Instagram, they have the option to share their stories only with them. As a result, the shared story is usually surrounded by a green circle and the "Close Friends" label . This way, you can see if you're in someone's Close Friends group.

On the other hand, keep in mind that the person might alternate between stories posted to their close friends list and regular stories. This means you won't always see the green circle around them . In this case, it's best to look at all their stories to see if the green "Close Friends" label appears and find out for sure.

How to create your own list of best friends?

Create list of best friends on Instagram

So, how do you create a Close Friends list on Instagram? The process is super simple and you'll find it very useful, especially if you want to share personal content only with people you trust. To do it, follow these steps:

  1. Login to your Instagram account.
  2. Tap your profile picture.
  3. Click on the menu (the three parallel lines at the top right).
  4. Then go to Settings – Privacy – History.
  5. Now, click on 'Best friends'.
  6. Choose the people you want to add to your personal list.
  7. Ready! This way you will have your own list of best friends.

There's another way to create a private group to share your Instagram stories . The process is just as simple as before. To do this, simply follow these steps:

  1. Enter the 'Your story' section.
  2. Select the photo or video you want to share.
  3. Tap on 'Best Friends'.
  4. Choose the people you want to add to the list.
  5. Click on the 'Done' option.
  6. Tap 'Publish' and you're done.

What does it mean to have 'best friends' on Instagram?

What is best friends on Instagram

So, what does it really mean to have close friends on Instagram? Basically, it's a group of users you choose to share stories with that you don't want to share with everyone . Instagram usually shares stories with all the users you've added or with those you select individually.

So, by having a Close Friends list, you can share exclusive content with people you've previously selected. However, keep in mind that this tool only works with Instagram Stories ; it doesn't work for regular posts on your profile.

Is it possible to watch 'best friend' stories without being?

Basically, the answer is no. You can't see stories from close friends if they haven't added you as one . In fact, stories shared with close friends aren't even available in highlights, so everyone can't see them.

It was precisely to prevent these kinds of actions that Instagram created the "close friends" feature. This allows each user to protect their personal information, their privacy , and maintain their trust while using the social network.

However, if you want to view other users' stories without them knowing, there are a few tricks you can use. For example, open Instagram, load their profile, turn on airplane mode, and view their story . You can also use websites that allow you to do this securely.

Is it possible to get back on the 'best friends' list if you've already been deleted?

instagram app

So, how can you tell if someone has removed you from their close friends list on Instagram? One way is by looking at the stories they post. If their stories frequently showed up with a green circle and no longer do, you might no longer be on their close friends list. However, it's not a definitive indicator.

On the other hand, remember that the surest way to find out is to ask the person directly if they deleted you . This way, you can be sure whether you're still on their list or not. But if you're too embarrassed to do that, you can try adding them to your own close friends list and sharing exclusive content with them. That way, they might be encouraged to add you back to their personal list.

Finally, it's worth clarifying that this is just a tool Instagram uses to make life easier for its users . Being on someone's close friends list doesn't actually demonstrate the strength of your friendship. So, don't worry! If you're not on this list, it doesn't mean you're not a close friend of that user.


Add as preferred source in Google