Ways to delete friend requests on Facebook

Ways to delete friend requests on Facebook

Discover how to delete friend requests on Facebook , whether you sent them or simply received them. In this article, we'll explain the methods available to avoid becoming friends with someone you don't want to be friends with or who invited you by mistake.

We all know the popular platform Facebook, one of the most popular social networks that is still going strong. It has been revitalized thanks to Meta's acquisition of other popular projects like WhatsApp and Instagram.

To enjoy other users' content, Facebook requires a friendship relationship on the platform, which is established through invitations or friend requests . These can be sent by either party, and the other must accept or decline the request.

How to delete friend requests on Facebook

Ways to delete friend requests on Facebook+

It's possible that not all friend requests received or sent are well-received , so many are deleted, preventing the creation of a friendship link between the two users. Here's how to delete friend requests on Facebook, regardless of whether it was sent by mistake or you simply don't want to accept it.

Method to delete friend requests received on Facebook

Actually, it's very simple, thanks to the engineers who developed the platform and their focus on streamlining processes , especially the main ones like friend requests. If you don't want to be friends with someone who sent you an invitation, you can easily delete it as follows:

  1. Enter the platform Facebook. If you are not logged in, you will need to add your credentials, such as email, phone number, and password.
  2. Once inside, you will be able to see publications from pages and other users, being of interest in this opportunity the left column, where we will look for "Friends”. Here will appear not only your friends, but the requests you have pending.A1
  3. Initially, the pending friend requests will appear, in case it is not the case or you have many, you can simply click on the option “See all”, located in the upper right corner or in “Friend requests”, in the left column.A2
  4. To eliminate each of these requests, you can click on the button “Delete”, which is located under the option of “RSVP".

It's important to know that when you delete a friend request, the person who sent it won't be notified , but they can send you a new one at any time. After deleting a friend request, your profile might appear among Facebook's "People You May Know" suggestions.

When you don't want to add a user who sent you a friend request , but you also don't want them to do it again, you have two options: one is to block that profile, which will not be able to interact anymore until you decide to revoke the block.

The second option, and possibly one of the most common for users who don't want to accept a request, is to simply leave it there, avoiding clicking the " Confirm " or " Delete " buttons. This will leave the request there, without any effect , and therefore, the sender won't even know about it.

How to put my Instagram on my Facebook profile
Related article:
How to put my Instagram on my Facebook profile

Method to cancel friend requests sent on Facebook

If you accidentally sent a friend request or simply regretted it afterward, don't worry, there's a way to reverse this, as long as the other user hasn't already accepted. Here's how:

  1. Enter with your credentials to the official site of Facebook.B1
  2. Once you can see the content, you must go to the left column and locate the option “Friends”, where, as in the previous section, we will click.
  3. Again, in the left column, find “Friend requests”. Both sent and received will appear here, only they will not be seen directly. Initially, you will find the received ones arranged in a column and you will also be able to see a small link that says “View submitted requests”, we must click on it.B2
  4. A pop-up screen will show you all the requests sent and on the right side of each one, you will be able to see a button that indicates “Cancel request".B3
  5. After we click on it, a message will appear below the user's name, telling us that we have successfully canceled the request.B4

As you can see, this method is very easy to implement, so I'm sure you won't have any problems doing it yourself. Perhaps the only tedious part, both in deleting received and sent requests, is that we have to do it manually, one by one . Therefore, I recommend that if you want to delete them, don't let them accumulate, as the task will seem endless.

I hope I have helped you, we will read another time. If you have any questions or comments, you can leave it in the comments.


Add as preferred source in Google